We took our Spring break in Texas this year, we were staying in Austin. About a year and a half ago I was looking for a twin tip to ride in the waves of Lake Michigan. I searched around and ended up talking to a fellow from Chicago named West Hansen. West kites as many waves in Lake Michigan as just about anyone on the planet. West is partners in a board making business called BroKite. Awesome twin tip and one of the best kiteboarding purchases I have ever made. I will post about this board in the future as I plan on posting about all equipment I know and enjoy and have personal experience with. Strongly considering buying a Pop model from them to replace my Underground FLX.

Long story short West’s partner Jerry lives in Corpus Christi Texas on the Laguna Madre. I contacted them and was invited to come and kite. These guys are just salt of the earth great guys, opening up their launch and home and a beer or two. Jerry showed me the Laguna and it is a little slice of flat water heaven. Just amazing.

Laguna Riding

Session Date: April 2nd, 2012

Session Time: 1:30 -4:30 3 hours

2012 Season Days to Date: 4

2012 Season Hours to Date: 8.25

Wind Observations: Corpus Christi has amazing winds and really varied riding areas. Amazing spot with very consistent winds.

Session Notes: An amazing session as I toured the Laguna with Jerry, We worked up wind for about an hour to an area called Little Brazil which was dead flat water. It was both beautiful and amazing conditions at the same time. Was on my freeride and carved around and just enjoyed. I was on my 10m RPM which towards the end of the session left me a bit over powered but the downwind ride home was great fun and watching some of the local riders over a Dos Equis after the session was great. I only wish I could have stayed more days but our spring break schedule did not allow it.